Home | Program | Travel and Lodging | Campus Map

Digital Literature Workshop | Electronic Cabaret | A Night at the Cybertexts

Calls (closed): for Papers | for Art and Performance


 

Wednesday / Thursday, April 26th / Friday / Saturday

8.30AM

Welcome
Salomon 001

Introduction - Andy Van Dam

Keynote Address
Theodor Holm Nelson: "Starting over: Toward a True Electronic Literature."

11-12:30PM

 

Session A: Poetry
Foxboro auditorium

Chair: Bill Bly

 

Session B: Interface
Metcalf Auditorium

Chair: Massimo Riva
(Brown University)

   

Loss Pequeno Glazier
glazier@acsu.buffalo.edu

The Conditional Text: Siting the "Poetry" in E-Poetry

 

Susana Pajares Tosca
toska@arrakis.es

"Spatial Metaphors in Digital Environments: How Literal
Can You Get >>

   
   

John Cayley
cayley@shadoof.net

Literal artists: who are we and what are we doing here >>

 

Terry Harpold
tharpold@acm.org

Thickening space: On reading & the 'visible' interface >>

     
   

Jim Rosenberg
jr@amanue.com

The Interactive Word Object >>

 

Francisco J. Ricardo
f_ricardo@post.harvard.edu

Aspects of Knowledge Representation in Digital
Culture >>

12:30-2PM

 

Break

   

2-3:30PM

 

Session C: Music
List 120

Chair: Sue Thomas
(trAce Online Writing Center)

 

Session D: Entertainment
MacMillan 115

Chair: Susana Tosca
(Oxford Brookes University)

   

Todd Winkler Todd_Winkler@brown.edu

The Audience Experience in Movement-Sensing Installations >>

 

Michael Mateas, Andrew Stern
michaelm@cs.cmu.edu
andrew@interactivestory.net

Towards Building a Fully-Realized Interactive Drama >>

     
   

Jack Ox
jackox@bway.net

The 21st Century Virtual Reality Color Organ >>

 

Anne Mangen anne.mangen@hf.ntnu.no

"Lost in fictional space, or distracted by speed and sound: Results from an experiment at Xerox PARC." >>

     
   

Thomas Ciufo Thomas_Ciufo@Brown.edu

Real-Time Sound/Image Manipulation and Mapping in a Performance Setting >>

 

Frank Shipman shipman@cs.tamu.edu

Blending the Real and Virtual: Activity and Spectatorship in Fantasy Sports >>

4-6PM

Readings and Performances
Salomon 101

   

John Cayley
cayley@shadoof.net

What we will have of something past (from "Thought City")

   
       
   

Jim Rosenberg
jr@amanue.com

diagram series 5

   
       
   

Judd Morrissey
jmaeiou@mediaone.net

Jew's Daughter >>

   
       
   

Judd Morrissey
jmaeiou@mediaone.net
Lori Talley
ltalleyho@yahoo.com

My Name is Captain, Captain >>

   

6-8PM

 

Dinner (on your own)

   

8PM

 

Electronic Cabaret
Lounge at the Saunders Inn, Vartan Gregorian Quad

Brown University's Creative Writing Program and Hypertext Fiction Workshops with special guest emcee Mark Amerika >>

Wednesday / Thursday, April 26th / Friday / Saturday

 

 

DAC2001 Home